Adrafinil reviews

Adrafinil is a mild central nervous system stimulant drug used to relieve excessive sleepiness and inattention in elderly patients

adrafinil

Adrafinil reviews

  • I have multiple rheumatic conditions, fibromyalgia, etc. Because of sleepiness being one of the common side effects of many of my medications and the fact that with fibro sleep is messed up, I first took it in 2006 and the only time I’ve been off of it in that time was the 11 months in 2009 while I was hospitalized. It would have been pointless to take at that time due to what was going on. But, since restarting it, my alertness has been much better. I have no side effects that I notice. When I first took it, I did not think of the warning given by the NP at my pain doctor’s office. She said take a quarter or half of the dose. That’s the only time I’ve had bad side effects. Now I have none. I’ve been at 100mg/day for a year or so. Erik Reza, August 1, 2012
  • I took Adrafinil for the first time yesterday and for the first time in as long as I can remember I felt hopeful. My tremors decreased and I had energy for the first time in years. I am so happy and hope never to stop taking it. Magical little pill. Roxie Rapier, November 20, 2012
  • I was put on Adrafinil a year and a half ago and can no longer take it. I was one of the ones that had a horrible reaction to it. At first it was just a headache then I would crash around 5… the the headaches got worse, no medicines helped with the headache. Then I started itching. At first I didn’t connect it to the Provigil, then I broke out EVERYWHERE with a rash that was like poison ivy just worse. So I am no longer on any medicines and lets just say that most days are very hard and I am so very tired. Louisa Bown, September 24, 2009
  • I was feeling extremely tired and unmotivated after a short time since beginning night shift (emergency worker) duty. My doctor prescribed Provigil. I had never even heard of it before. This is what I need. I am wide awake when I need to be, either day or night and I can still catch a cat nap on duty, and I don’t have trouble sleeping in the daytime anymore. I know many people on provigil in emergency services. Almost all of us work nights or rotating shifts. I can’t say I have heard of any ill side effects other than dehydration and headache. Drank more water and it all went away. Jeanie Ohler, December 21, 2011
  • The BEST thing I take for the MS. Definitely makes me feel better and more vibrant! Althea Stickland, November 1, 2011
  • I was diagnosed with narcolepsy in 1998. I have been on Cylert, amitriptyline, Ritalin, ambien, and now Provigil. The Provigil is a life saver. I did lose weight on it at first, but have leveled off and have not lost any weight since then. I have taken Provigil for 2 years now. It is not an “upper” and does not make me feel drugged. I take 200 mg in the morning. It does not wake me up, it helps me maintain the wakefulness that I need to get through the day. Without Provigil, I would not have a normal life. I am thankful to have found this drug. I would, however, like a generic to it that would help to offset the exorbitant cost of the drug. Launer, May 21, 2012
  • Compared to ritalin, which I was taking before this drug, this produced a much more alert and natural awake feeling. Unfortunately for me it also made me practically psychotic and in a moment of thoughtfulness I thought this must be how people feel when they talk about “snapping”. I could not control my emotions. I went back to my doctor and promptly switched off the medication. Too bad the side effects were over the top as the alertness was amazing. I took the drug for less than two weeks. Kelly Brundige, April 5, 2011
  • Adrafinil made me lose my appetite at first, I lost about 20 pounds. The energy was great for a few months but it lost it’s effectiveness. It only took me four months to reach the maximum dose. Darryl Herdman, February 14, 2012
  • Works like a miracle but have nausea. Jamie Shearin, July 8, 2011
  • I have Narcolepsy with Cataplexy and am currently taking Provigil during the day when I first wake up. I have noticed that my Cataplexy attacks are fewer but it doesn’t stop them all. I still have at least 3 big attacks a week. I have found that I am more alert taking Ritalin but have more cataplectic attacks. I am currently working with my doc to up the dosage because the 200mg are not enough. I have had some side effects with the medicine. Mood Swings, becoming fixated on a task or project, confusion, headache and some depression. I am currently a full time student and for me taking Provigil to prevent attacks vs being more alert is the best option for me at this point. Pearlie Bakken, February 4, 2009
  • This was the first drug that my doctor prescribed for my narcolepsy. I didn’t experience any side-effects but it didn’t improve my wakefulness to any discernible degree with two doses of 300mg. (one dose of 300mg upon waking in the morning; one dose of 300mg around noon). Hugh Prange, January 27, 2010
  • I am 60 years old and had been sleeping12 hours per night with a nap sometimes for 3 hours. am i depressed or chronically fatigued? i have been taking nuvigil and now i sleep 9 hours a night with no naps. i am now more excited about life. side effects? an hour after i take it (one dose 200mm in the am) i notice an effect similar to one cup of coffee that lasts a half hour then nothing. cost is $390 for a thirty day supply. insurance won’t cover it. medicare will not except for NARCOLEPSY. . THIS IS NOT RELATED TO RITALIN OR AMPHETAMINES AND HAS A VERY low abuse potential in spite of what you may hear from college students. as more info comes in it would not surprise me that this would be the first drug used in treating depression. thanks Clare Bochenek, June 14, 2011
  • I was diagnosed with MS at the age of 29 and had severe fatigue for 2 years prior. I started on 200mg which was way too strong so I cut the dose into 100mg. I find that if I take it everyday it is not as effective so I just take it when needed which ends up being about 3 times a week (I work full time in a sort of stressful environment). It is important not to “over do it” when on Provigil. I have to say that Provigil changed my life. I am now able to spend time with my boyfriend in the evenings after work and also see friends past 9 PM and not get fatigued. I do feel that when I drink on Provigil I get very emotional…so I try and stay away from drinking. I do like how it helps me mentally focus and also have energy to exercise! Clinton Schreck, July 19, 2012
  • I’m a 36 year old female and I’ve been living with narcolepsy for over 20 years and was just diagnosed about 2 months ago! I have been on Provigil for 1 week. 200mg twice a day with that I still feel like a walking zombie. I have not noticed a change with no side effects. I was taken off of Nuvigil 150mg 1x/day. I did notice a huge difference with that. I remember feeling..wow this is what it feels like to be awake. But it would die out by noontime and barley get me through the rest of my day. I also experienced a dull constant headache and random nausea. It now seems almost worth going back to it and dealing with the side effects. Clayton Rochford, December 16, 2011
  • I was initially prescribed this medication to address both a mild sleep apnea problem and persistent depression. Initially, it was indeed like a miracle drug. I felt better immediately and continued so for about a year. However, the drug then quickly became less effective and actually began to make my depression much worse. I very briefly switched to Nuvigil, but I continued with the worsening depression and ended up having to stop the medication. Within a few days of discontinuing the medication, I felt considerably better. I went on to other medications to help with the depression and fatigue. Provigil/Nuvigil has been a blessing for many people. However, as with many medications, their continued use can sometimes backfire. Tania Kellough, July 25, 2011

 

Incoming search terms:

  • adrafinil reviews
  • adrafinil headache mental headache
  • adrafinil review
  • is adrafinil as strong as modafinil
  • taking adrafinil and provigil

3 thoughts on “Adrafinil reviews

  1. Haversidne

    I was diagnosed with Narcolepsy about 2 weeks ago. For 2 months I had been nodding off at work and at home, it got really bad when I nodded off while at a stoplight driving and when I got “written” up for sleeping at work. I was given Provigil to help me out which when I started taking it, it was like a miracle drug. I felt alert and not drowsy all the time. After 5 days I started feeling nauseous and then 2 days later out of the blue it stopped working. My Doctor put me on Ritalin but I’m still having problems later in the day, on my way to see a sleep specialist.

    Reply
  2. JeanJSanto

    I’ve been on Adrafinil for 2 years now for ADD like symptoms caused by a brain injury. After 14 years of not being able to keep my thoughts together enough to hold a job, I can now connect the dots and have been working full time for a year and a half. I do not take Provigil to make me smarter or give me an edge. I just want to be able to balance my check book and hold a job. I no longer have insurance to help with the cost, so I have been trying to make what I have left last as long as possible. Lately I’ve been having trouble organizing my thoughts and being able to finish the simplest of chores. Looking back, it is amazing how much this drug helps me to live a normal life.

    Reply
  3. BarryClark77

    My depression is responsible for a sleeping disorder that makes it very hard for me to stay awake and functional: I have some kind of hypersomnia instead of the regular insomnia complaints patients have. Even though there are people that respond nicely to modafinil, I didn’t feel anything while associating 200mg of it to my SSRI. I couldn’t notice any improvement to my sleeping cycle or to my concentration. Side effects were absent too. Unfortunately it was not for me.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>